About Andrzej Krzanowski

Display optionsaccessibility
linia - grafika (1)


List of Works by CategoriesAlphabetical List of the WorksChronological List of the Works
#12 Capriccio   for accordion (1983)

Grafika dla: Capriccio (Kompozycja #12)


Place of Origin



PWM Edition, cat. no. 8799

To Doctors Yvonne and Andrew Lobstein

First Performance
01.10.1983, Strasbourg, „Musica’83” International Contemporary Music Festival, performer: Andrzej Krzanowski – accordion

3rd prize at the 1st National Accordion Competition in Rzeszów

Comments about the Works

Capriccio is a composition seeking new sound possibilities for an accordion through the use of acoustic beats created using the highest register of the instrument. The alternating generation of a continuous, high-pitched sound of any length, overlapping sound bands and stereo repetitions evokes associations with electronic music, which in the late 1970s was getting closer and closer to Krzanowski’s field of interest. According to the composer: “Capriccio was composed based on the form of a rondo which chorus consists of accumulations of tritones, and sequences of seconds and sevenths prevail in couplets.”

On contemporary (more perfect) accordions, the sound effects proposed by Krzanowski are difficult to obtain, so the work should be performed only on instruments that enable the required sound to be obtained.

The work was premiered by the composer during the International Festival of Contemporary Music “Musica ‘83” in Strasbourg (it was there that he made friends with Yvonne and Andrew Lobstein, to whom he dedicated the composition).

Ink autograph at the Main Library of the Karol Szymanowski Academy of Music in Katowice

linia - grafika (5)


Dofinansowano ze środków Ministra Kultury, Dziedzictwa Narodowego i Sportu
pochodzących z Funduszu Promocji Kultury – państwowego funduszu celowego,
w ramach programu „Muzyka”, realizowanego przez Narodowy Instytut Muzyki i Tańca.